LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette: Review, Swatches, and Tutorial

LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Review Swatches Tutorial

Usually, I’m not that into sentimental palettes, but LORAC Beauty and the Beast PRO Eyeshadow Palette is an exception. Ever since I’ve heard about the launch, I simply couldn’t resist picking it up.

While I’m always skeptical about limited edition eyeshadow palettes, it was one of those situations when I decided to go all the way in simply because I grew up watching Beauty and the Beast, and I was excited to see how this new LORAC makeup collection turns out.

Package

Without a doubt, this palette presents some of the most stunning packaging ideas out there. The palette looks like a beautifully designed book that features silver and gold shades with red accents. It has a magnetic closure that helps to protect the eyeshadows. The left side of the palette is dedicated to the antique-style mirror that quotes Shakespeare’s “Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind.” On the right, there is another quote (“True beauty is found within”). All sixteen eyeshadows presented in the collection are located on the right side of the palette, together with a two-sided golden eyeshadow brush. Overall, I’m delighted with the packaging of the palette. In fact, I believe LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette is one of the most beautifully designed palettes I’ve ever purchased.

LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Review Swatches Tutorial
LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Review Swatches Tutorial
LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Brush Review

Value

There are 16 shades in this limited edition eyeshadow palette, 0.31 oz./11.2 g total. The palette retails for $48 which means that you pay $3 per each eyeshadow. Compared to other palettes by the brand (LORAC Pro Palette 3 featuring 16 eyeshadows that go for $44 and LORAC Pirates of the Caribbean featuring 18 eyeshadows that go for $52), the palette is on a pricey side. The price point of the palette is the same if compared to my all times favorite ABH Modern Renaissance Palette that features 14 eyeshadows for $42, i.e. $3 per eyeshadow.

Formula

Since it’s my first eyeshadow palette by the brand, it’s hard for me to tell how LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette compares to the rest of the palettes from the brand. I would compare the formula of these shadows to IT Cosmetics Naturally Pretty Vol. 1 Eyeshadow Palette or the ones from Tarte Tarteist Palette as the majority of these shadows are matte and buildable.

Shades

LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette features 16 eyeshadows: 9 shimmer and 7 matte shades.

LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Swatches

1st Row: Dream It // Time Keeper // Our Guest // Impress
2nd Row: Beast Mode // Enchanting // Swept Up // Look Beyond

LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Swatches

3rd Row: My Castle // Chip In // Romance // Spell Breaker
4th Row: Inner Beauty // Tea Time // Tick Tock // Real You

Pigmentation

The majority of eyeshadows in the palette are nicely pigmented and offer muted but even coverage. With the exception of Enchanting (pigmentation is just not there for that one), I would say that the majority of shadows will be most suitable for those who prefer less extravagant eyeshadow looks.

Blendability

For the most of the part, the shadows are easy to blend. Neutrals and rose shades melt into the skin very smoothly and effortlessly. Dark shimmers require a bit more advanced blending skills and might look patchy, especially if you are not using an eyeshadow primer.

LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Brush Review
LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Worth It

Fallout

I was impressed with the warm shade Romance as I expected lots of fallout from this burgundy shade, but it stayed on my brush and lids as opposed to ruining the under eye area makeup. Generally speaking, neutrals and rose shades from the palette either don’t leave at all or feature just a minimal amount of fallout. Same goes for the beige-toned shimmers. Dark colored shimmers act like any other typical eyeshadow: there is a noticeable amount of fallout, so I recommend applying these before your foundation.

Color Range

I’ve heard a lot of reviews where people are saying that these shades were put together “without any thought to it” and I have to disagree with this position. I feel that the creators of the palette faced a real dilemma on how to incorporate the original color theme of the cartoon/movie into a palette that will be suitable for everyday wear and I believe that the creators did a great job with picking such colors. In a way, each of the rows of the palette presents a ready-to-use look, and you can play with mixing and matching shadows from different rows.

Also, while reading such negative reviews on this palette, keep in mind that LORAC as a brand is known for its neutral shade palettes like PRO and UNZIPPED palettes so I would not expect any super bright colors anyways as it’s not what the brand stands for. Maybe it’s just my perspective, but I believe that the goal with this palette was to give a new twist to an everyday neutral palette and the brand did it beautifully.

LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Review Swatches Tutorial

Application

While the packaging of the palette states that you could apply these shadows both dry and with the help of MAC Prep + Prime, I found that not all of these shadows are easy to work with if used wet. Namely, Time Keeper, Beast Mode, and Swept UP are three shades that I recommend applying dry.

Brush

As I mentioned before, the palette comes with a two-sided brush which I really enjoyed using. While the short side was a bit too small for applying eyeshadow into the crease, it was ideal for packing the color on the outer corners. I also had a great use of the blending brush. It was denser that I usually prefer, but it was not bad at all.

LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Review Swatches Tutorial

Where to Buy

The palette just launched on Ulta so I would recommend to hurry up purchasing it if you plan on doing so. It’s a limited edition palette so I would not wait for it to sell out. As of the moment of writing this post most of the items from the LORAC Beauty and the Beast Collection are sold out on the brand’s website so I would assume that it might go out of stock at Ulta too.

The Verdict

If you are a makeup collector, this palette is an absolute must to have in your collection. Not because the shades are super unique, but because of the packaging and the concept. Personally, I would keep this beautifully designed palette in the prime spot of my beauty room.

1st Row: Dream It // Time Keeper // Our Guest // Impress

LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Swatches

2nd Row: Beast Mode // Enchanting // Swept Up // Look Beyond

LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Swatches

3rd Row: My Castle // Chip In // Romance // Spell Breaker

LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Swatches

4th Row: Inner Beauty // Tea Time // Tick Tock // Real You

LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette - Swatches

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

123 Comments

  1. Jessica Redd wrote:

    Hey i just got this email I won omg I’m so excited how do I give you my information

    Posted 7.1.17
  2. Congratulations! You became the winner of the Style Sprinter giveaway which means you’ll be receiving a limited edition of the LORAC Beauty and The Beast Palette. I just emailed you a request to submit your mailing address so I can mail your prize. Congrats again!!!

    https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/c91b4582810c1a985982ca93365711f8633b5f6fca4055eb9bbbb286d7ac9b98.png

    Posted 7.1.17
  3. Erin wrote:

    A lot of brands irritate my sensitive skin but I’ve never had a problem with Lorac.

    Posted 6.29.17
  4. Irene Lirette wrote:

    Fingers crossed!! Absolutely Love this!!

    Posted 6.29.17
  5. Maday Muñiz Lopez wrote:

    You are beautiful !

    Posted 6.28.17
  6. Heather Wallisch wrote:

    You look so pretty (you remind me of Belle)! I loved your reviews and was glad you went into great detail about the whole palette (from packaging, to the double ended brush and the eyeshadows.) Thank you!

    Posted 6.26.17
  7. Emma Leport wrote:

    this pallete is awesome

    Posted 6.26.17
  8. Batman wrote:

    Signed up. i would love to win.

    Posted 6.25.17
  9. Irene Lirette wrote:

    Beautiful! I love the colors in this palette! Thanks for giving us a chance to win one! :)

    Posted 6.25.17
  10. Ruby wrote:

    Gorgeous colors… Thanks for this awesome giveaway opportunity!

    Posted 6.25.17
  11. Alexandra Campbell wrote:

    Such a beautiful Palette! ^.^

    Posted 6.24.17
  12. takwa cherif wrote:

    i Love the Beauty and the Beast Palette

    Posted 6.24.17
  13. Chris g wrote:

    Oh my how id love to own this beautiful collection!

    Posted 6.24.17
  14. DeeG131 wrote:

    Thank you for taking the time to swatch these colors – they are very pigmented, which is great. I’m pretty much obsessed with this entire palette!

    Posted 6.24.17
  15. Tatum Channell wrote:

    I love the boxing. The colors are so beautiful!

    Posted 6.23.17
  16. Natalie Mezzadonna wrote:

    love Beauty and the Beast! one of my favorite Disney movies for sure!! this whole collection looks gorgeous

    Posted 6.23.17
  17. Tiana wrote:

    Beautiful palette! Thank you for this giveaway! ?

    Posted 6.22.17
  18. Tiffany Dover wrote:

    FABULOUS!! Love this palette and the colors so much!

    Posted 6.22.17
  19. Ashley Nolan wrote:

    This palette has beautiful colors!

    Posted 6.22.17
  20. Courtney Saige Wood wrote:

    I absolutely love the finished look! You’re so pretty. This palette is a must have! I seriously need it in my life!

    Posted 6.22.17
  21. I love all about this palette. The packaging (especially the mirror), color choices, and the brush are pretty perfect.

    http://www.vidazenitha.blogspot.co.id

    Posted 6.21.17
  22. Aurelia nelsha wrote:

    First off all thank you for the giveaway and you willing to give away to us. I love you blog and all your video on youtube

    Posted 6.21.17
  23. Rachel Austin wrote:

    Thank you for being so giving! This is such a beautiful pallete and growing up beauty and the beast was my all time favorite!!

    Posted 6.20.17
  24. Ellie Andriotis wrote:

    Beautiful palette!

    Posted 6.20.17
  25. esmeralda cruz wrote:

    Thanks for posting about this palette I love the swatches they are very beautiful! ❤❤❤ Love Youuuuuuu

    Posted 6.20.17
  26. Barbara Riffe wrote:

    I have never tried these but love to try new products.

    Posted 6.20.17
  27. Marta wrote:

    This is so beautiful! This would be the pride and joy of my collection. Thanks for this fabulous opportunity to win one. Fingers crossed!!!!!

    Posted 6.20.17
  28. Nizia Jamee wrote:

    dreamy fairy tale palette

    ❤️

    Posted 6.20.17
  29. Candice East wrote:

    How can you not fall in love with this set? It looks like a book and has the best colors! I love their names like TEA TIME! Huge Disney and makeup fan! You look as pretty as Belle!

    Posted 6.20.17
  30. Dandy wrote:

    I love the packaging! The colours are pretty as well :)

    Posted 6.19.17
  31. Tandi Vidal wrote:

    Love this palette….and movie! :) Thank you for the chance.

    Posted 6.19.17
  32. Dory Moore wrote:

    I love the colors in the palette, especially the bottom row! ?

    Posted 6.19.17
  33. Sivatharjini Ratnam wrote:

    The palette is so beautiful!!

    Posted 6.19.17
  34. Carmela wrote:

    I love this palette! It’s so pretty!

    Posted 6.19.17
  35. Jamie Lejman wrote:

    I would love to add that to my collection! It’s almost too pretty to use!

    Posted 6.19.17
  36. Tay Glitter Glam wrote:

    The palette is so cute! it would look amazing in my collection! Thanks for the chance to win lovely❤️❤️

    Posted 6.19.17
  37. Cîrlea Alexandra wrote:

    The palette is gorgeous ??
    Love it

    Posted 6.19.17
  38. Trinidad Lara wrote:

    cool

    Posted 6.19.17
  39. Cathy Thompson wrote:

    Awesome palette, love the packaging!

    Posted 6.18.17
  40. shannon fowler wrote:

    This is such a gorgeous palette! Im getting married at disney this fall, so Im all about beauty and the beast right now. Thanks for posting about this palette.

    Posted 6.18.17
  41. Rosalee Jacklin wrote:

    I am so intrigued by this LORAC Beauty and the Beast Palette! It definitely replicated Beauty and the Beast. And has such a great variety of colors that I would actually wear. Thank you so much for this chance! I definitely entered.

    Posted 6.18.17
  42. mildred Burgos wrote:

    Thank for the opportunity.

    Posted 6.18.17
  43. dorofte alexandra wrote:

    The palette is gorgeous and so are you

    Posted 6.18.17
  44. Lydia Crozier wrote:

    Thank you so much for doing this giveaway beauty and the beast is like my favorite movie

    Posted 6.18.17
  45. Stephanie Nicole Keylon wrote:

    You are gorgeous!!! Love the Beauty and the Beast Palette!!! Pretty colors!!!

    Posted 6.18.17
  46. Militza L Loureiro wrote:

    I love it. I will so happy if i win thath palette

    Posted 6.18.17
  47. Tina Ivanisevic wrote:

    Thank you for this giveaway!

    Posted 6.18.17
  48. Marta wrote:

    This is absolutely gorgeous! I agree that I need this for my collection. I’ve never seen a collection so visibly stunning.

    Posted 6.18.17
  49. Cat wrote:

    You did a great job with the look!

    Posted 6.18.17
  50. Kris wrote:

    This look looks gorgeous on you!

    xx Kris

    https://dreamingofpink.wordpress.com

    Posted 6.18.17
  51. Bianca Rogoveanu wrote:

    The palette is gorgeous, so are you !

    Posted 6.18.17
  52. Darla Gray wrote:

    Such a gorgeous palette! Well done!

    Posted 6.18.17
  53. Cynthia Tritten wrote:

    ***fingers are crossed*** i love everything about this pallete

    Posted 6.18.17
  54. Kelcie Marie wrote:

    I wanna try this pallete so bad!

    Posted 6.18.17
  55. Lori Schuetz wrote:

    This is just beautiful. Wow!!!

    Posted 6.18.17
  56. Barbara Marie wrote:

    So gorgeous the palette as well ??⭐

    Posted 6.18.17
  57. Donna Robinson wrote:

    Want to try!

    Posted 6.17.17
  58. Stacy Berger wrote:

    Super beautiful!! ???? I want!

    Posted 6.17.17
  59. Ashley Nolan wrote:

    I love this palette the colors are light and beautiful.

    Posted 6.17.17
  60. donna porter wrote:

    This palette has such beautiful colors. I love them all!

    Posted 6.17.17
  61. Nadia Kimi wrote:

    The colours of this palette that seems mixed up actually gives a bigger range of style from just one palette. So just by opening it, a variety of looks can be made which is really cool. Though, there are some colours I’m not very confident working with ♡

    Posted 6.17.17
  62. Samantha Gambello wrote:

    This palette is amazing! I live how you take the time to break everything down and in the video as well! Id be elated to win this fabulous palette????✌

    Posted 6.17.17
  63. Marissa Bechtle wrote:

    I love your look! Soft, yet glam!! Gorgeous!!

    Posted 6.17.17
  64. Kris Adams wrote:

    This is super perfect! Love the colors and the look is amazing!

    Posted 6.17.17
  65. This is such a pretty palette and you created such a great look with it!

    Amanda | http://www.poppyseeder.com/

    Posted 6.17.17
  66. Coline T. wrote:

    Belle is my favorite! Stunning Palette :-D

    Posted 6.17.17
  67. colon janesa wrote:

    Beautiful palette!!

    Posted 6.17.17
  68. christina07 wrote:

    Those pinks are to die for, your look is stunning.

    Posted 6.17.17
  69. Maria Elena Fratangeli wrote:

    Those colors look amazing I love Beauty and the Beast you look so beautiful ?

    Posted 6.17.17
  70. Darlene Carbajal wrote:

    The colors are so pretty! I need this!

    Posted 6.17.17
  71. Arlinda wrote:

    I’m glad you started your own channel on youtube. I am looking forward to the content you’ll be producing.

    Posted 6.17.17
  72. Michelle Castagne wrote:

    I love the look you crested with this palette. It looks beautiful on you.

    Posted 6.17.17
  73. Karin Vogeleer wrote:

    Wow this look and give a way is STUNNING AWSOME

    Posted 6.17.17
  74. patty wright wrote:

    Love the look

    Posted 6.17.17
  75. Jewell Rains Rippeon wrote:

    This is beautiful! Thank you for showing us!

    Posted 6.17.17
  76. Lilibeth Vargas wrote:

    Lovely colors, hope to win!!!!

    Posted 6.17.17
  77. pinksuzanne wrote:

    Such beautiful colours in this palette and love the packaging.

    Posted 6.17.17
  78. Amanda Willford wrote:

    Love this pallet.

    Posted 6.17.17
  79. E Camille wrote:

    The colors are beautiful

    Posted 6.17.17
  80. Melanie Corning wrote:

    such beautifully applied makeup. I love the color palette…so pretty

    Posted 6.17.17
  81. Star Giammona wrote:

    This pallet is just too beautiful not to have the details are just perfect ??

    Posted 6.17.17
  82. Arooj Salman wrote:

    It is beautiful! would love to win it :)

    Posted 6.17.17
  83. Ines Diazgomez wrote:

    Hello, it is so beautiful! ❤

    Posted 6.17.17
  84. Tre900 wrote:

    Adorable and so unique!

    Posted 6.17.17
  85. Destini Judge wrote:

    this is seriously the most beautiful palette i’ve ever seen ?

    Posted 6.17.17
  86. Shaheena Mir wrote:

    Love the palette and hope to win

    Posted 6.17.17
  87. Sonja wrote:

    Love the palette!!!

    Posted 6.17.17
  88. Ashley Segars Chandler wrote:

    Love the Colors!!!

    Posted 6.17.17
  89. Josh N Amanda Currie wrote:

    I love this palette!!!!!!

    Posted 6.17.17
  90. Jess Mar wrote:

    Love the colors

    Posted 6.17.17
  91. Crystal Lynne wrote:

    Beautiful pallete and great review!

    Posted 6.17.17
  92. Salena Perkins-Bright wrote:

    Love it!!

    Posted 6.17.17
  93. sarah lees wrote:

    Absolutely beautiful! Great pictures

    Posted 6.17.17
  94. Amber Marie wrote:

    Thanks for the review? and the chance to win this ?

    Posted 6.17.17
  95. Darki-san wrote:

    The colors are beautiful and the design is lovely. Thanks for the amazing review ?

    Posted 6.17.17
  96. tracy meunier wrote:

    I’m so glad to find your blog! This palette is amazing so beautiful.

    Posted 6.17.17
  97. Shanah Backman wrote:

    love this pallet

    Posted 6.17.17
  98. Chartee wrote:

    Thanks for this review! The swatches look great, which all of loracs palettes are super pigmented and underated. So of course i would love 2 win this!!!

    Posted 6.17.17
  99. SCOTT BRUNSKILL wrote:

    My granddaughter would be over the moon with this ….loves her make-up collections….and Princess Bella

    Posted 6.17.17
  100. Jessica Garcia wrote:

    Loved it . I also am a beauty junky and this beauty and the beast palette would just be perfect for my makeup collection! Also your awesome with reviews!

    Posted 6.17.17
  101. Carrie Bottorff-Culp wrote:

    All the colors are wonderful. :) This would be very nice to win. Thanks for the chance. :)

    Posted 6.16.17
  102. Meesh wrote:

    I really love the colors in this palette. I love neutrals, blues and purples.

    Posted 6.16.17
  103. Karla Marie Montgomery wrote:

    Gorgeous just like love your blog and videos really hoping to win but if not that’s ok I’ll support you no matter what. (= ♡

    Posted 6.16.17
  104. susan wrote:

    I palette is stunning!! It’s easier for me to see the palette on here than on your YouTube video. I’m very impressed! I’m in love with this palette!!

    Posted 6.16.17
  105. Brandye1980 wrote:

    Beautiful as you are

    Posted 6.16.17
  106. VICKI LYNN RAINS wrote:

    gorgeous colors

    Posted 6.16.17
  107. Jessica Redd wrote:

    This is so beautiful and the swatches are very pigmented this would be a dream come true to win

    Posted 6.16.17
  108. diane lopez wrote:

    Is a pretty palette.

    Posted 6.16.17
  109. Jessica Martinez wrote:

    Beautiful palette

    Posted 6.16.17
  110. London Anastastia Lunoux wrote:

    Thanks for posting about this palette! I love the swatches they are beautiful!

    Posted 6.16.17
  111. Jess N James wrote:

    I would love to try this!!

    Posted 6.16.17
  112. Markita Hamilton wrote:

    I absolutely love the colors. All of them are pretty. I’ve never owned a palette before. I would love to try these colors:). Great reviews

    Posted 6.16.17
  113. Anne C wrote:

    Thanks for the swatches and review! I love the third row!

    – abconsolacion

    Posted 6.16.17
  114. GJordan wrote:

    Beautiful palette

    Posted 6.16.17
  115. Crystal Williams Leon wrote:

    im so happy i am a subscriber on all of your things , becuz i had no idea about this palerte , and i love it ! it is so great even the little mirror is so awesome !!

    Posted 6.16.17
  116. Victoria Lynn wrote:

    This palette is life omg?????❤❤

    Posted 6.16.17
  117. Jessica Miller wrote:

    Love this. It’s so pretty.

    Posted 6.16.17
  118. inkchick wrote:

    Thanks for swatching! This is a fabulous mix of shades!

    Posted 6.16.17
  119. Vilma Echemendia wrote:

    Hermosa paleta de maquillaje esta adorable

    Posted 6.16.17
  120. Jaleasa Aguiar wrote:

    This pallette is very cute and im obsessed with the colors i hope i win this pallette. This would be my everyday neutral look or going bold.

    Posted 6.16.17
  121. Jennifer Kloch-Davis wrote:

    Gorgeous I would love to win this palette! Thank you for the chance at winning this make up dream!

    Posted 6.16.17
  122. Shireen wrote:

    I freaking love the finished look, Katya and thank you for the giveaway, entered! I have never tried any Lorac palette before so fingers crossed!

    Posted 6.16.17

SUBSCRIBE

SIGN UP TO RECEIVE NEWSLETTERS FROM STYLE SPRINTER
%d bloggers like this: